Southwest Lounges and a New Premium Card Are Coming in 2027
However, these factors do not influence our editors' opinions or ratings, which are based on independent research and analysis. Our partners cannot pay us to guarantee favorable reviews. Here is a list of our partners. Austin, Baltimore, Nashville and Honolulu airports will be the first to get a Southwest Airlines lounge. Meghan CoyleEditor/Content Strategist & Smart Travel Podcast Host Updated Sep 2, 2026Fact CheckedHow is this page expert verified?NerdWallet's content is fact-checked for accuracy, timeliness and relevance. It undergoes a thorough review process involving writers and editors to ensure the information is as clear and complete as possible.More on our editorial rigorAddas a preferred source on Google NerdWallet is committed to editorial integrity.Travel Cards from our Partnersdiv:not(:last-child)]:border-neutral-lighter [&>div:not(:last-child)]:border-b [&>div]:py-2">Apply now on Chase's website 4.7NerdWallet ratingNerdWallet's ratings are determined by our editorial team. The scoring formula takes into account the type of card being reviewed (such as cash back, travel or balance transfer) and the card's rates, fees, rewards and other features.Rewards rate1x-5x5x on travel purchased through Chase Travel℠, 3x on dining, 3x on vacation homes, 3x on gas & EV charging, 3x on top streaming services and online groceries (excluding Walmart, Target, and wholesale clubs), 2x on all other travel purchases, 1x on all other purchases.PointsIntro offer75,000Earn 75,000 bonus points after you spend $5,000 on purchases in the first 3 months from account opening.PointsApply now on Chase's website 5.0NerdWallet ratingNerdWallet's ratings are determined by our editorial team. The scoring formula takes into account the type of card being reviewed (such as cash back, travel or balance transfer) and the card's rates, fees, rewards and other features.Rewards rate1.5%-5%Enjoy 5% cash back on travel purchased through Chase Travel℠, 3% cash back on drugstore purchases and dining at restaurants, including takeout and eligible delivery service, and unlimited 1.5% cash back on all other purchases.CashbackIntro offer$200Earn a $200 Bonus after you spend $500 on purchases in your first 3 months from account opening.Apply now on Capital One's website 4.7NerdWallet ratingNerdWallet's ratings are determined by our editorial team. The scoring formula takes into account the type of card being reviewed (such as cash back, travel or balance transfer) and the card's rates, fees, rewards and other features.Rewards rate2x-5xEarn unlimited 2X miles on every purchase, every day. Earn 5X miles on hotels, vacation rentals and rental cars booked through Capital One Travel.MilesIntro offer75,000Earn a one-time bonus of 75,000 miles once you spend $4,000 on purchases within 3 months from account opening, equal to $750 in travel.MilesSee more Travel cardsSouthwest Airlines just announced the first four locations of its planned airport lounge network, and revealed plans for a premium credit card that will provide access to those lounges. This development marks another step in the airline’s shift from its historical budget model toward premium travel products.The new Southwest lounges are being developed in partnership with Chase and modeled after the locally inspired dining and amenities found in Chase Sapphire lounges. Construction has begun at the initial four locations and Southwest expects to welcome the first guests in late 2027.What airports will have Southwest lounges?The first four Southwest lounges are planned for the following airports:li>ol]:pl-4 [&>li>ul]:pl-4 [&>li]:mt-2">Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (AUS).Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport (BWI).Nashville International Airport (BNA).Daniel K. Inouye (Honolulu) International Airport (HNL).A Southwest representative told NerdWallet the initial four locations were chosen based on "market significance, customer demand, premium travel opportunity and the availability of spaces capable of supporting the type of lounge experience we intend to deliver."Southwest carries more passengers through Austin, Baltimore and Nashville than any other airline, making those airports logical places to invest in the passenger experience. Whether the lounges can avoid the overcrowding issue that plagues other domestic lounges will depend on their size and access policies, which Southwest has not disclosed. Honolulu is a less obvious strategic choice, as Southwest has cut some of its flights to and from Oahu in recent years. But with limited lounge options at Honolulu’s airport, perhaps Southwest’s expansion will give passengers an experience worth looking forward to.The airline says at least seven additional lounges are planned to open over the next several years, but did not specify further.A new premium Southwest credit cardSouthwest also plans to launch a premium Southwest Rapid Rewards® Credit Card issued by Chase in 2027. The card will provide access to the new lounge network, but Southwest has not said whether cardholders will receive unlimited visits, a fixed number of passes or guest privileges. There are no details on the annual fee yet, but existing premium airline cards with lounge benefits range from roughly $395 to $695 per year.The new card will join Southwest's existing lineup of consumer credit cards, which include:Southwest consumer cardsSouthwest Rapid Rewards® Priority Credit Card NerdWallet ratingNerdWallet's ratings are determined by our editorial team. The scoring formula takes into account the type of card being reviewed (such as cash back, travel or balance transfer) and the card's rates, fees, rewards and other features.Apply now on Chase's website NerdWallet ratingNerdWallet's ratings are determined by our editorial team. The scoring formula takes into account the type of card being reviewed (such as cash back, travel or balance transfer) and the card's rates, fees, rewards and other features.Apply now on Chase's website Earn 60,000 bonus points after spending $2,000 on purchases in the first 3 months from account opening.points50,000Earn 50,000 bonus points after spending $1,000 on purchases in the first 3 months from account opening.pointsBenefits• When available, upgrade to an Extra Legroom seat within 48 hours prior to departure.• When available, Standard or Preferred seat selection at time of booking for the cardholder and up to eight passengers on the same reservation.• Free checked bag for cardholder and up to eight additional passengers on the same reservation.• 7,500-point anniversary bonus each year.• 25% back on in-flight purchases.• 2,500 TQPs toward A-List status for every $5,000 you spend.• When available, standard seat selection within 48 hours prior to departure for the cardholder and up to eight passengers on the same reservation.• Free checked bag for cardholder and up to eight additional passengers on the same reservation. • 3,000-point anniversary bonus each year.• 25% back on in-flight purchases.Learn more Read reviewRead reviewThe announcement is another sign that Southwest sees premium products — and the credit card revenue attached to them — as central to its future. For travelers, the question is whether those additions will create meaningful new benefits without further eroding the airline’s appeal to price-sensitive flyers. Top photo courtesy of Southwest Airlines.How to maximize your rewardsYou want a travel credit card that prioritizes what’s important to you. Here are some of the best travel credit cards of 2026:li>ol]:pl-4 [&>li>ul]:pl-4 [&>li]:mt-2">Flexibility, point transfers and a large bonus: Chase Sapphire Preferred® CardNo annual fee: Wells Fargo Autograph® Card Flat-rate travel rewards: Capital One Venture Rewards Credit CardBonus travel rewards and high-end perks: Chase Sapphire Reserve® Luxury perks: American Express Platinum Card®Business travelers: Ink Business Preferred® Credit CardExplore more onTravelAddas a preferred source on Google NerdWallet Compare, Inc. NMLS ID# 1617539NMLS Consumer Access |Licenses and Disclosures California: California Finance Lender loans arranged pursuant to Department of Financial Protection and Innovation Finance Lenders License #60DBO-74812 Insurance Services offered through NerdWallet Insurance Services, Inc. (CA resident license no.OK92033) Insurance Licenses California: California Finance Lender loans arranged pursuant to the Department of Financial Protection and Innovation Finance Lenders License #603L288 You also can open a Cash Account offered by Atomic Brokerage which allows you to earn interest on your cash through a cash sweep program. View Important Cash Account Disclosures. Neither Atomic Invest nor Atomic Brokerage, nor any of their affiliates is a bank. Investments in securities: Not FDIC Insured, Not Bank Guaranteed, May Lose Value. Investing involves risk, including the possible loss of principal. Before investing, consider your investment objectives and the fees and expenses charged. NerdWallet™ | 4150 N Drinkwater Blvd, Suite 200, Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Source: NerdWallet
This article has been carefully curated and reformatted for educational and informational purposes. Full credit goes to the original publisher.
📚 Visit more helpful articles on Joab Peters Blog
No comments